Shenton Brokers
← What insurance covers

Maid insurance

Does maid insurance cover mental illness?

As of 28 Oct 2026 (Singapore time)

Usually not. 11 of the 14 insurers we compare exclude mental and psychiatric illness, though 2 still pay it under hospital and surgical cover; 3 do not say. Suicide and self-inflicted injury are excluded too. Treatment is usually the employer's cost. If you notice signs of distress, speak to the helper's agency and a doctor early.

The figures

  • Insurers compared: 14, with 79 plans between them.
  • Insurers that exclude it on every plan: 11, 2 of them with exceptions.
  • Insurers whose documents do not say: 3.
  • MOM requires every helper to have at least S$60,000 a year of hospital and surgical cover and S$60,000 of personal accident cover.

What each insurer says

Each insurer's most favourable plan on this question, quoted from its policy documents. Prices are for new helper, 26 months, with bond waiver.
InsurerCovered?What the policy saysFrom
MSIGExcluded, with exceptionsfrom S$447.88Excluded, with exceptions
Standard6 of its 6 plansExcluded: Suicide, attempted suicide, self-injury, psychiatric conditions, alcohol and drug addiction (other than under hospital and surgical)Excluded: Hospital and surgical: preventive treatment, dental (except accident), cosmetic surgery, traditional Chinese medicine, repeat treatment of mental conditions or self-inflicted injury
S$447.88
AIGExcluded, with exceptionsfrom S$671.52Excluded, with exceptions
AIG Domestic Helper Insurance Classic4 of its 4 plansExcluded: Psychiatric disorders, suicide and self-inflicted injury (except under hospitalisation and surgical expenses)
S$671.52
ECICSNofrom S$478.50No
Classic6 of its 6 plansExcluded: Repeat treatment of mental conditions, self-inflicted injury or attempted suicide
S$478.50
UOINofrom S$508.30No
UOB InsureHelper Plus Basic (underwritten by UOI)3 of its 3 plansExcluded: Repeat treatment for alcohol addiction, riot, attempted suicide, self-inflicted injury or psychiatric disorder
S$508.30
EtiqaNofrom S$551.92No
Plan A3 of its 3 plansExcluded: Repeat occurrence of mental conditions, self-inflicted injury or attempted suicide, drug addiction or alcoholism, venereal or sexually transmitted diseases
S$551.92
HL AssuranceNofrom S$561.50No
Maid Protect360 Pro Basic8 of its 8 plansExcluded: Venereal disease, HIV and AIDS and related illness; mental, nervous and sleep disorders including anxiety and depression
S$561.50
IncomeNofrom S$565.71No
Basic Plan9 of its 27 plansExcluded: Mental conditions; sexually transmitted infections and HIV
S$565.71
India InternationalNofrom S$572.25No
i-Maid Standard2 of its 2 plansExcluded: Mental, psychological or psychiatric disorders
S$572.25
FWDNofrom S$573.37No
Essential3 of its 3 plansExcluded: Alcoholism and drug addiction; repeat treatment of mental conditions, self-inflicted injury or attempted suicide
S$573.37
SompoNofrom S$634.50No
Standard6 of its 6 plansExcluded: Repeat treatment of mental conditions, self-inflicted injury and suicide
S$634.50
ChubbNofrom S$876.58No
DBS Domestic Helper Protect Classic (underwritten by Chubb)2 of its 2 plansExcluded: Suicide; repeat self-inflicted injury; repeat nervous, mental or psychiatric conditions
S$876.58
LibertyNot statedfrom S$555.90Not stated
Standard4 of its 4 plansThe plan's documents do not mention it.
S$555.90
Great EasternNot statedfrom S$575.52Not stated
Silver3 of its 3 plansThe plan's documents do not mention it.
S$575.52
EQ InsuranceNot statedfrom S$616.94Not stated
EQ MaidSafe (Plan 1)2 of its 2 plansThe plan's documents do not mention it.
S$616.94

All prices include 9% GST. A dash means the plan has no price for this example. Each insurer's policy wording is the final word on what is covered.

See every insurer's price for your own answers, with each plan's cover side by side.

Compare maid insurance

Questions people ask

Does maid insurance cover mental illness?

Usually not. 11 of the 14 insurers we compare exclude mental and psychiatric illness, though 2 still pay it under hospital and surgical cover; 3 do not say. Suicide and self-inflicted injury are excluded too. Treatment is usually the employer's cost. If you notice signs of distress, speak to the helper's agency and a doctor early.

Where do these answers come from?

From each insurer's own policy documents: the benefit table and exclusions of every live plan we compare, 79 plans from 14 insurers. The policy wording is the final word on what is covered.

Which plan is cheapest?

Prices depend on your answers: get a quote to see every insurer's price for you.