Maid insurance
Does maid insurance cover dental treatment?
As of 28 Oct 2026 (Singapore time)
Only after an accident, as a rule. 8 of the 14 insurers we compare exclude routine dental work, 5 of them paying after an accidental injury; 3 insurers name an accidental dental sub-limit. MOM's minimum medical cover is for hospital stays, not dentists. Check-ups, fillings, cleaning and pain from tooth decay are the employer's cost to pay.
The figures
- Insurers compared: 14, with 79 plans between them.
- Insurers with at least one plan that covers it: 3.
- Insurers that exclude it on every plan: 8, 5 of them with exceptions.
- Insurers whose documents do not say: 3.
- Cheapest plan that covers it, for new helper, 26 months, with bond waiver: MSIG Standard, S$447.88.
- Median price among the insurers that cover it, for the same example: S$508.30.
- MOM requires every helper to have at least S$60,000 a year of hospital and surgical cover and S$60,000 of personal accident cover.
What each insurer says
| Insurer | Covered? | What the policy says | From |
|---|---|---|---|
| HL AssuranceYesfrom S$611.40 | Yes | Maid Protect360 Pro Enhanced6 of its 8 plansOutpatient treatment: Accidents only: S$2,000 accident medical reimbursement (S$75 per visit, dental S$100 per accident, ambulance S$100 a year); subsidised outpatient GP and dental consultation at HLA panel clinics | S$611.40 |
| MSIGYes, with limitsfrom S$447.88 | Yes, with limits | Standard6 of its 6 plansOutpatient treatment: Accidents only: S$1,000 medical expenses due to accident (dental S$500, TCM S$100, dengue S$100 sub-limits)Excluded: Hospital and surgical: preventive treatment, dental (except accident), cosmetic surgery, traditional Chinese medicine, repeat treatment of mental conditions or self-inflicted injury | S$447.88 |
| UOIYes, with limitsfrom S$508.30 | Yes, with limits | UOB InsureHelper Plus Basic (underwritten by UOI)3 of its 3 plansOutpatient treatment: Accidents only: S$500 medical expenses (TCM/chiropractic and accidental dental sub-limits; dengue fever included)Excluded: Cosmetic surgery, dental treatment not caused by accident, vaccination, contraception, infertility treatment, sex re-assignment, preventive treatment and screening | S$508.30 |
| ECICSExcluded, with exceptionsfrom S$478.50 | Excluded, with exceptions | Classic6 of its 6 plansExcluded: Normal dental work (except after accidental injury); cosmetic or plastic surgery | S$478.50 |
| EtiqaExcluded, with exceptionsfrom S$551.92 | Excluded, with exceptions | Plan A3 of its 3 plansExcluded: Cosmetic surgery; dental work (except due to accidental injuries); vaccination; health screening and preventive treatment | S$551.92 |
| Great EasternExcluded, with exceptionsfrom S$575.52 | Excluded, with exceptions | Silver3 of its 3 plansExcluded: Elective treatment: cosmetic surgery, dental work (except after an accident), vaccinations, health screening, fertility and contraception | S$575.52 |
| AIGExcluded, with exceptionsfrom S$671.52 | Excluded, with exceptions | AIG Domestic Helper Insurance Classic4 of its 4 plansExcluded: Dental care, cosmetic, plastic or elective surgery unless necessitated by accident; general check-ups | S$671.52 |
| ChubbExcluded, with exceptionsfrom S$876.58 | Excluded, with exceptions | DBS Domestic Helper Protect Classic (underwritten by Chubb)2 of its 2 plansExcluded: Dental work, eye examinations, cosmetic or plastic surgery unless required due to accidental injury | S$876.58 |
| LibertyNofrom S$555.90 | No | Standard4 of its 4 plansExcluded: Cosmetic surgery, dental treatment not caused by accident, vaccination, contraception, infertility treatment, sex re-assignment, preventive treatment and screening | S$555.90 |
| FWDNofrom S$573.37 | No | Essential3 of its 3 plansExcluded: Cosmetic surgery, dental work, health screening and preventive treatment, infertility, traditional Chinese medicine (hospital and surgical section) | S$573.37 |
| SompoNofrom S$634.50 | No | Standard6 of its 6 plansExcluded: Routine dental treatment, health screening and preventive treatment | S$634.50 |
| IncomeNot statedfrom S$565.71 | Not stated | Basic Plan9 of its 27 plansThe plan's documents do not mention it. | S$565.71 |
| India InternationalNot statedfrom S$572.25 | Not stated | i-Maid Standard2 of its 2 plansThe plan's documents do not mention it. | S$572.25 |
| EQ InsuranceNot statedfrom S$616.94 | Not stated | EQ MaidSafe (Plan 1)2 of its 2 plansThe plan's documents do not mention it. | S$616.94 |
All prices include 9% GST. A dash means the plan has no price for this example. Each insurer's policy wording is the final word on what is covered.
See every insurer's price for your own answers, with each plan's cover side by side.
Compare maid insuranceQuestions people ask
Does maid insurance cover dental treatment?
Only after an accident, as a rule. 8 of the 14 insurers we compare exclude routine dental work, 5 of them paying after an accidental injury; 3 insurers name an accidental dental sub-limit. MOM's minimum medical cover is for hospital stays, not dentists. Check-ups, fillings, cleaning and pain from tooth decay are the employer's cost to pay.
Where do these answers come from?
From each insurer's own policy documents: the benefit table and exclusions of every live plan we compare, 79 plans from 14 insurers. The policy wording is the final word on what is covered.
Which plan is cheapest?
For new helper, 26 months, with bond waiver, MSIG Standard is the cheapest plan that covers it, at S$447.88 today, GST included. The median of each insurer's lowest price is S$508.30.