Car insurance
Does car insurance cover drink-driving accidents?
As of 28 Oct 2026 (Singapore time)
No. 15 of the 18 insurers we compare exclude damage when the driver was under the influence of alcohol or drugs; 3 do not say so in the terms we hold. The law still makes the insurer pay injured third parties, but it can then recover that money from you. Repairs to your own car are yours to pay.
The figures
- Insurers compared: 18, with 101 plans between them.
- Insurers that exclude it on every plan: 15.
- Insurers whose documents do not say: 3.
What each insurer says
| Insurer | Covered? | What the policy says | From |
|---|---|---|---|
| India InternationalNofrom S$604.07 | No | Comprehensive (any workshop or authorised workshops)3 of its 3 plansExcluded: Driving under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs | S$604.07 |
| HL AssuranceNofrom S$698.03 | No | Car Protect360 Comprehensive2 of its 2 plansExcluded: Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs; driving by anyone other than an authorised driver | S$698.03 |
| Budget DirectNofrom S$710.92 | No | Car Insurance – Comprehensive4 of its 4 plansExcluded: Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs | S$710.92 |
| AIGNofrom S$721.67 | No | AIG Car Insurance Collision Only2 of its 2 plansExcluded: Driving by anyone who is not an authorised driver or not permitted to drive under licensing laws, or under the influence of alcohol, drugs or medication | S$721.67 |
| EtiqaNofrom S$725.20 | No | Private Car Insurance – Comprehensive (Authorised Workshop)4 of its 8 plansExcluded: Driving without a valid licence or under the influence of alcohol or drugs | S$725.20 |
| SompoNofrom S$790.40 | No | Comprehensive Cover – Authorised Workshop Plan4 of its 4 plansExcluded: Driving by anyone who is not an authorised driver or not permitted under licensing rules, or under the influence of liquor, drugs or medications | S$790.40 |
| ERGONofrom S$790.88 | No | SMART Comprehensive4 of its 4 plansExcluded: Driving by anyone other than an Authorized Driver, or under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs to the extent of being incapable of proper control | S$790.88 |
| Great EasternNofrom S$830.70 | No | Drive and Save Plus Comprehensive (Authorised Workshop)5 of its 5 plansExcluded: Use outside the 'Limitations as to use' on the certificate (e.g. hire and reward such as GrabCar); driving by anyone who is not an authorised driver; driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs | S$830.70 |
| ECICSNofrom S$843.91 | No | Comprehensive6 of its 6 plansExcluded: Driving under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs | S$843.91 |
| AllianzNofrom S$873.27 | No | Allianz Motor Protect Comprehensive6 of its 14 plansExcluded: Driving without a valid licence (or while suspended or disqualified), or by anyone who is not an Authorised Driver; under the influence of alcohol, drugs or intoxicating substances | S$873.27 |
| SinglifeNofrom S$912.99 | No | Motor Lite3 of its 3 plansExcluded: Driving under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs | S$912.99 |
| DirectAsiaNofrom S$976.44 | No | Car Insurance – Comprehensive, Value plan15 of its 15 plansExcluded: Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs | S$976.44 |
| UOINofrom S$1,106.58 | No | UniCar Comprehensive Value4 of its 4 plansExcluded: Driving by anyone other than an authorised driver, or under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs | S$1,106.58 |
| LibertyNofrom S$1,219.83 | No | Comprehensive Preferred Plan4 of its 11 plansExcluded: Driving by anyone other than an Authorised Driver, without a valid driving licence, or under the influence of alcohol, drugs, narcotics or medication | S$1,219.83 |
| QBENofrom S$1,687.22 | No | Private Motor Prestige Comprehensive2 of its 3 plansExcluded: Driver under the influence of alcohol or drugs at the time of the accident | S$1,687.22 |
| MS First CapitalNot statedfrom S$732.08 | Not stated | Comprehensive3 of its 3 plansThe plan's documents do not mention it. | S$732.08 |
| FWDNot statedfrom S$866.72 | Not stated | Drivo Classic5 of its 5 plansThe plan's documents do not mention it. | S$866.72 |
| IncomeNot statedfrom S$866.72 | Not stated | Drivo Classic5 of its 5 plansThe plan's documents do not mention it. | S$866.72 |
All prices include 9% GST. A dash means the plan has no price for this example. Each insurer's policy wording is the final word on what is covered.
See every insurer's price for your own answers, with each plan's cover side by side.
Compare car insuranceQuestions people ask
Does car insurance cover drink-driving accidents?
No. 15 of the 18 insurers we compare exclude damage when the driver was under the influence of alcohol or drugs; 3 do not say so in the terms we hold. The law still makes the insurer pay injured third parties, but it can then recover that money from you. Repairs to your own car are yours to pay.
Where do these answers come from?
From each insurer's own policy documents: the benefit table and exclusions of every live plan we compare, 101 plans from 18 insurers. The policy wording is the final word on what is covered.
Which plan is cheapest?
Prices depend on your answers: get a quote to see every insurer's price for you.