Personal accident insurance
Does personal accident insurance cover you overseas?
As of 28 Oct 2026 (Singapore time)
Yes on most plans. 19 of the 22 insurers we compare cover accidents worldwide, 24 hours a day; 3 do not say where in the terms we hold. It does not replace travel insurance, which adds trip cancellation, lost baggage, evacuation and much larger medical limits for illness as well as accidents abroad.
The figures
- Insurers compared: 22, with 418 plans between them.
- Insurers with at least one plan that covers it: 19.
- Insurers whose documents do not say: 3.
- Cheapest plan that covers it, for accountant, S$200,000 cover: EQ Insurance EQ Personal Accident, death and permanent disablement (the sum you choose, S$50,000 to S$500,000), S$174.40.
- Median price among the insurers that cover it, for the same example: S$304.40.
What each insurer says
| Insurer | Covered? | What the policy says | From |
|---|---|---|---|
| EQ InsuranceYesfrom S$174.40 | Yes | EQ Personal Accident, death and permanent disablement (the sum you choose, S$50,000 to S$500,000)22 of its 22 plansWhere and when: Worldwide, 24 hours a day | S$174.40 |
| HSBC LifeYesfrom S$204.92 | Yes | HSBC Life Band Aid Package 2 (S$200,000), basic plan16 of its 16 plansWhere and when: Accidents anywhere; occupational classes 1 (office) and 2 (field work, some manual work) | S$204.92 |
| UOIYesfrom S$218.76 | Yes | UniPA Plus (S$200,000)9 of its 9 plansWhere and when: Worldwide, 24 hours a day; each overseas trip up to 30 consecutive days; adults 18 to 65 at entry | S$218.76 |
| ERGOYesfrom S$223.00 | Yes | ERGO AccidentProtect Essential (S$200,000), Core Cover24 of its 24 plansWhere and when: Worldwide, 24 hours a day; personal effects damaged in an accident up to S$300 a year | S$223.00 |
| India InternationalYesfrom S$239.80 | Yes | i-Aid Enhanced (S$200,000)20 of its 20 plansWhere and when: Worldwide, 24 hours a day; adults 18 to 65 and children from 6 months, each insured person priced on their own and the policy the sum | S$239.80 |
| Tokio MarineYesfrom S$250.70 | Yes | TM 365 Personal Accident Plan C (S$200,000)16 of its 16 plansWhere and when: Worldwide, 24 hours a day, including war and terrorism | S$250.70 |
| Great EasternYesfrom S$283.40 | Yes | PA Supreme Plan B (S$200,000)16 of its 16 plansWhere and when: Worldwide, 24 hours a day; entry age 16 to 65, renewable to 74; occupation classes 1 to 3, each adult priced on their own class | S$283.40 |
| FWDYesfrom S$283.84 | Yes | FWD Life PA S$200,000 (Plan B)24 of its 24 plansCover: One adult; worldwide, up to 180 consecutive days outside Singapore; FWD's occupation classes 1 to 4 (its own class for the job) | S$283.84 |
| LonpacYesfrom S$303.60 | Yes | Personal CarePlus Standard (S$200,000)12 of its 12 plansWhere and when: Worldwide, 24 hours a day; adults 18 to 70, renewable to 75; occupation classes 1 and 2 at the same price (class 3 referred to the underwriter); Singaporeans, PRs and Employment Pass holders | S$303.60 |
| AIGYesfrom S$305.20 | Yes | Sapphire Enhanced Choices Preferred, Basic package (S$200,000)32 of its 32 plansWhere and when: Worldwide, 24 hours a day | S$305.20 |
| China TaipingYesfrom S$308.47 | Yes | Executive (S$200,000)16 of its 16 plansCover: Individual plan: one adult; worldwide, 24 hours a day; policyholder aged 16 to 65 next birthday, a Singaporean, PR or employment-pass holder; priced on your occupation class from the flyer's annual table (classes I to III: class I indoor and non-manual work (office, clerk, doctor, lawyer, nurse, teacher, retiree, homemaker, student), class II outdoor or supervisory work without tools or machinery (engineer, outdoor sales, surveyor, agent, unarmed security guard, gym instructor), class III manual work with tools or machinery that is not particularly hazardous (chef, driver, courier, contractor, plumber, motor repairer, hawker); the flyer's figures exclude GST; bought on myHub they are 30% off, with 9% GST added to the discounted figure); emergency evacuation S$50,000; 5% no-claim bonus at each renewal up to 20% | S$308.47 |
| SompoYesfrom S$316.10 | Yes | PAStar Elite (S$200,000)27 of its 27 plansWhere and when: Worldwide, 24 hours a day; adults 16 to 70, children 1 month to 25 if dependent and unmarried | S$316.10 |
| MSIGYesfrom S$322.73 | Yes | PA RecoveryPlus Gold (S$200,000)30 of its 30 plansCover: Worldwide, 24 hours a day; one adult. Adults 18 to 65 (renewable to 75), children 1 month to 25, each insured person priced and added up; the adult rate depends on occupation Group A (professional, administrative, deskbound or light work: our office, healthcare, retail, personal-care and similar jobs) or Group B (physical labour, tools, vehicles, work up to 30 feet: drivers, technicians, chefs, cleaners, warehouse and site work); Platinum is sold to Group A only; heavy or high-risk jobs are not covered | S$322.73 |
| QBEYesfrom S$337.90 | Yes | PA Prestige Plan B (S$200,000)16 of its 16 plansWhere and when: Worldwide, 24 hours a day; adults 18 to 70 at entry, renewable to 80; occupation classes 1 to 3 (class 4, manual work with cutting machinery or hazardous conditions, is not insurable); children from 1 month to 18 (25 if full-time students) | S$337.90 |
| IncomeYesfrom S$361.88 | Yes | PA Assurance Classic (S$200,000)38 of its 38 plansWho and where: Worldwide, 24 hours a day; trips abroad up to 180 days in a row; ages 15 days to 70 (cover may continue to 80); one price for any listed occupation, though Income caps the cover for some jobs (S$300,000 for air crew, firefighters, construction workers and police); up to 4 children on a policy | S$361.88 |
| LibertyYesfrom S$389.13 | Yes | PACare Plus Enhanced Executive (S$200,000)20 of its 20 plansWhere and when: 24 hours in Singapore; worldwide for trips of up to 90 days at a time; personal liability S$200,000; emergency evacuation and repatriation via Liberty Helpline; terrorism, motorcycling and unscheduled flight extensions | S$389.13 |
| SinglifeYesfrom S$423.57 | Yes | Personal Accident Standard (S$200,000)12 of its 12 plansWhere and when: Worldwide, 24 hours a day (outside Singapore up to 182 days a policy year); personal liability S$200,000; terrorism and disappearance extensions | S$423.57 |
| HL AssuranceYesfrom S$495.96 | Yes | Family Protect360 Premier (S$250,000 an adult)16 of its 16 plansWhere and when: Worldwide, 24 hours a day; child's education grant S$17,500, parent's support grant S$7,500, family cash relief S$2,500 an adult | S$495.96 |
| ChubbYes | Yes | DBS MultiGen Protect Classic (S$100,000; underwritten by Chubb)10 of its 10 plansWhere and when: 24 hours a day, no territory limit in the wording, terrorism covered worldwide; adults 18 to 50 at entry (renewable to 70; from 51 the senior benefits apply, S$60,000 accidental death), Singapore residents, one policy for the applicant and immediate family; yearly price (the app also sells monthly); prices include GST | – |
| Great AmericanNot statedfrom S$224.14 | Not stated | Great Personal Accident Insurance Elite (S$200,000) Basic18 of its 18 plansThe plan's documents do not mention it. | S$224.14 |
| EtiqaNot statedfrom S$264.49 | Not stated | Tiq Personal Accident Enhanced Gold (S$300,000)12 of its 12 plansThe plan's documents do not mention it. | S$264.49 |
| AllianzNot statedfrom S$378.94 | Not stated | Accident Protect Plus Gold (S$250,000)12 of its 12 plansThe plan's documents do not mention it. | S$378.94 |
All prices include 9% GST. A dash means the plan has no price for this example. Each insurer's policy wording is the final word on what is covered.
See every insurer's price for your own answers, with each plan's cover side by side.
Compare personal accident insuranceQuestions people ask
Does personal accident insurance cover you overseas?
Yes on most plans. 19 of the 22 insurers we compare cover accidents worldwide, 24 hours a day; 3 do not say where in the terms we hold. It does not replace travel insurance, which adds trip cancellation, lost baggage, evacuation and much larger medical limits for illness as well as accidents abroad.
Where do these answers come from?
From each insurer's own policy documents: the benefit table and exclusions of every live plan we compare, 418 plans from 22 insurers. The policy wording is the final word on what is covered.
Which plan is cheapest?
For accountant, S$200,000 cover, EQ Insurance EQ Personal Accident, death and permanent disablement (the sum you choose, S$50,000 to S$500,000) is the cheapest plan that covers it, at S$174.40 today, GST included. The median of each insurer's lowest price is S$304.40.